Lawnscaping Winter Bloghop!

I’ve never participated in a blog hop before, but when I saw that the Lawnscaping gals were hosting one I had to jump on board. You’ve probably just arrived from Joyful Creations With Kim. If you get lost along your way, just hop on back to the main Lawnscaping Blog. remember to comment on all the blogs to increase your chances of winning some of the amazing prizes.

20131212-231735.jpg

Winter is such a fun theme, too! I love making non-holiday winter cards, especially since here in Southern California we don’t really get too much winter. For whatever reason, the theme put me in sort of a retro mood so I decided to focus on my favorite retro embellishment – flock! When I was a teenager, my dad worked for Rubber Stampede, so I had stamps, paper, ink, and embellishments coming out my ears. Fifteen year old Erica was obsessed with flock! I probably had it in about ten colors and trust me, there was not a card or project without that fuzz in some way, shape or form.

It was quite a challenge for me to figure out how to incorporate flock into my current clean and simple design aesthetic! I just focused on making cards with lots of white space, and making sure individual design elements had breathing room.

First up is the adorable fox from Into the Woods. The moment I saw a preview of this stamp set I knew I needed to have it, and it hasn’t left my design table since the day it was released.

20131213-162903.jpg

Supplies –
Stamps: (all from Lawn Fawn) Into the Woods (fox), Trim the Tree (large tree), Yeti, Set, Go (smaller trees, snowflakes), Bows and Holly (sentiment)
Paper: Neenah Solar White
Ink: Memento Tuxedo Black, Versamark
Accessories: Copic markers, silver embossing powder, glitter embossing powder, flocking, Corner Chomper, Lawn Cuts Dies

Oh boy, this is a card I wish you could see in person! I stamped small snowflakes across the background, then embossed them with clear, glittery embossing powder. That stuff adds such a beautiful, gorgeous sparkle that won’t rub off. There are two levels of snow banks, each of which is edged with some flock. I also added some flocking to the trees. The sentiment was stamped in the bottom left corner, where it looked best, but it also left the card feeling a bit bottom heavy. Rounding the corner opposite of the sentiment helps balance things out, leaving the design feeling much more even and light.

20131213-163107.jpg

How adorable is this fox?! I wanted him to be more of an Arctic fox, but instead of leaving him all white I used my N0, N1, and blender Copics to add some grey highlights. It seems counter intuitive, but adding some grey can really make whites look more, well, white!

My second card is a sneak peek at a card I’m making for a friend. She wanted a few cards to send out since she is moving. Her family includes three people (hence the three birds), and they will be moving to a very snowy place so my flocking fit right in.

20131213-163206.jpg

Supplies –
Stamps: (all Lawn Fawn) Seasons Tweetings, Home Sweet Home
Paper: Neenah Solar White, Pinecone Press
Ink: Neenah Solar White
Accessories: Copic markers, flock, Corner Chomper, Lawn Cuts Dies

These three birds are soooo sweet! I made the blue and yellow birds the parents, and their little green daughter occurred when the two mixed! I like to keep my design in threes, and this card features three “groupings” of elements – the birdhouse and left branch, the three birds and right branch, and the banner above.

season!!

20131213-163325.jpg

I added flocking to the top of the birdhouse, along the top of both branches, and to the banner up top. Rounding the corners of the top layer and the background keeps everything soft and balanced. Speaking of the background – the blue snowflake paper really helps set the mood, even though very little of it is visible. I absolutely adore the paper. Not only is it adorable, but it is from Pinecone Press, a local paper manufacturer. If you happen to be based here in Southern California (or even if you are just visiting) you should check them out! I love keeping money in my community by using local products, and both Lawn Fawn and Pinecone Press let me do just that.

Thank you so much for joining me this weekend. You can always keep up with me on my Cards by Erica Facebook Page. Your next stop is with Bev at Gotta Do the Happy Dance. Have a great holiday

125 thoughts on “Lawnscaping Winter Bloghop!

  1. Your cards are so amazing!!! I love the flocking and the arctic fox on the first one and the colors combination on the second one! They are really GREAT! Thank you for sharing!

Leave a Reply

