Online Card Camp, Week 1 Day 2

I only have time for a quick post tonight. Between working late, trying to fit in a run (read that a walk with a bit of running thrown in), cooking dinner, etc I didn’t even get to sit down to watch today’s lessons until well past 9.

Today’s lessons were really great for pushing me to look at items I already had in different ways. I decided to use this opportunity to make a shaped card, using this week’s colors, and incorporating some selective inking of a sentiment. I’ll start with a photo of the finished card, then show a few of my steps along the way.

20130709-225827.jpg

Supplies –
Stamps: Lucky Stars (Lawn Fawn)
Paper: Whisper White and Melon Mambo (SU), Pink Lemonade Collection (Lawn Fawn)
Ink: Memento Black, Pacific Point (SU)
Accessories: adhesive rhinestones, copics, masking paper, scoring board, Puffy Stars Lawn Cuts (Lawn Fawn)

When I saw this week’s challenge colors I immediately thought of the Pink Lemonade collection papers from Lawn Fawn. This particular paper contains the bright pink, yellow, and orange to fit I’m with the challenge colors. I used the Puffy Stars dies to cut my star shapes, then dabbed on some Tombo Mono Multi glue to hold the layers together. I then cut out two white stars – one for the back of the card and one for behind the frame I created with my colored stars.

For the card base, I placed the star straight on my scoring board and scored a line about 3/4″ down from the top point.

20130709-230434.jpg

I put that aside until the end so I could focus on my card base. I really wanted to use the “I thank my lucky stars for you” sentiment, but it wouldn’t fit in my frame as it comes. Never fear – selective coloring is here (I get super cheesy when exhausted).

20130709-230712.jpg

I held the “frame” over the base and traced the star shape on, then used a quilting ruler to draw three lines which I would use to center my sentiment.

20130709-230758.jpg

I placed masking paper over all of the words besides “lucky stars”, then used my Pacific Point pad to ink them up and stamp them on the middle line. I cleaned my stamp, then used the very edge of my memento pad to selectively ink up “I thank my” and “for you” to stamp on the top and bottom lines, respectively.

I finished off my card with three rhinestones, using copic markers to color them orange and turquoise to tie the colors all together. One of the basic principles of design is to work in triangular shaped groupings, and I tend to find things most pleasing to the eye when two of the three items are placed close together. I always keep that in mind when placing embellishments, and this is somewhere it works well.

20130709-231324.jpg

To finish off my card I erased my pencil lines (make sure your ink is dry! Ask me how I know this is an important step…), adhered my frame over my sentiment, then added adhesive at the top of the piece I scored earlier. Then I layer both pieces together. This gives me a star shaped card that opens at the top.

20130709-231527.jpg

Leave a Reply

