It’s time for Summer Camp!

Well, Summer Card Camp at least. I signed up to take a three week online workshop all about card making. I love learning new techniques, being pushed outside my comfort zone, and interacting with all the other students. I couldn’t wait to finish work today so I could dive into the first day’s lesson.

This is the card I made for Day 1. Well, cardS I should say – I had to make a variation of my first one. This card is based on one of the Week 1 sketches.

20130708-170037.jpg

20130708-170227.jpg

The difference between the two cards, other than the color, is the tone on tone hearts I added to the green banner. In an attempt to streamline the card while still retaining dimension, I utilized the negative space left by the die cut. The banner was placed on foam adhesive and the negative space of the word casts just enough of a shadow on the white below to really make the word pop. The three hearts below the word are also popped up on foam to add a bit more oomph to the design.

Tip: I like to use the cut out spots in the letters (like the center of the “o”) but those little pieces can be difficult to wrangle and position correctly. I like to leave those in place in the word, turn the whole thing over, then put the foam adhesive on the small parts. Then place the entire word inside the negative space on your banner, making sure those small pieces are adhered to the background well. Then just grab your tweezers and pull out the word. Easy peasy!

20130708-171314.jpg

And what did I do with the word that was cut out? I put it inside the card, right above where I’ll write my message. I love adding a bit of decoration to my cards.

20130708-172002.jpg

Supplies:
Stamps: Happy Everything (Lawn Fawn)
Paper: Neenah Solar White, Lucky Limeade, Pool Party, Melon Mambo, Pumpkin Pie (SU)
Ink: Versamark
Accessories: Love Die (Paper Smooches), Heart Punch (EK Success)

7 thoughts on “It’s time for Summer Camp!

Leave a Reply

