Addicted to CAS #16

My obsession with challenges continues – I love being pushed out of my comfort zone! Well, or in this case, finding a way to make the challenge work for my style.

Today is a fun one. The Addicted to CAS (Clean And Simple) challenge #16 is based on the code phrase “Take Flight”. As soon as I saw it I knew what my card would look like.

20130629-114846.jpg

Supplies –
Stamps: Blue Skies (Lawn Fawn)
Paper: Daphne’s Closet (Lawn Fawn), Neenah Solar White
Ink: Memento Black, Versafine
Accessories: Blue Skies dies (Lawn Fawn), Copics

This card has three layers. I started with a piece of light blue patterned paper from Lawn Fawn’s Daphne’s Closet collection. I die cut the clouds out of the paper, then used foam adhesive to layer the piece over a white card base. This creates some dimension utilizing the negative space from the clouds. Next I stamped the balloon and banner onto white paper, did some Copic coloring, and used a die to cut out the balloon and banner. I then placed the balloon onto the card using additional foam adhesive. The balloon seems to be hovering over the sky and clouds. I finished it off with a few solid stars to reinforce the sky look.

20130629-115607.jpg

I’m very pleased with now this card came out. It looks exactly as I imagined it when I saw the “Take Flight” inspiration phrase.

3 thoughts on “Addicted to CAS #16

  1. Beautiful card, Erica and great take on the cue word. I love how you coloured the balloon and used negative space for the clouds. Thank you for joining us at ATCAS.

  2. I love the colors you chose for your hot air balloon and the way you punched the clouds out of your background layer for an extra effect. Very cool! Thanks for playing at ATCAS. 🙂

Leave a comment