Musings on Inspiration

Two posts in a single day? I don’t think that has happened yet! This evening I was hit by sun a wave of inspiration that I had to join a new challenge.

As I’ve mentioned in other posts, right now my job is crazy. On top of that, one of our kitties is sick which not only adds stress but caring for her is sometimes exhausting. Don’t get me wrong – it is absolutely worth the effort. There are just some days when everything adds up and leaves me without the energy to do anything more than spend the evening sprawled it on the couch. Tonight was one of those nights. Instead of actually crafting I decided I go craft blog surfing.

I started off on Split Coast Stampers and went off, clicking link to link. Somehow I stumbled upon a fantastic new (to me!) Challenge Blog – CASE Study Challenge. CASE stands for “copy and share everything”, a term people use to describe being inspired by something another person has done. I frequently use other cards as inspiration. As I’m surfing craft blogs and galleries, I save cards that speak to me. It might be the layout, the colors, the images, the theme, or some combination therein. If something about a card speaks to me, I take a screenshot of it on my iPad or I pin it on Pinterest. Frequently when I sit down at my craft table, I’ll flip through my saved images and use one (or many) as a jumping off point.

The CASE Study Challenge Blog takes that idea and embraces it. Every week they post a card and challenge readers to take that card and add their spin to it. I quickly flipped through the last ten weeks of challenges and found myself so inspired I had to run to my craft room to make something to enter into the current challenge. I went from lounging on the couch feeling blah to excitedly running between my die cutting machine and stamping table. Now I’ll shut up and get to the card I made.

The things that jumped out at me about the inspiration card were the tone on tone background, the banner, and the visual elements with “points”. I took the inspiration card’s hexagons and made them stars. As soon as that decision was made the rest of the card fell into place. I started with a cream base and white embossed some small stars across the background. The large yellow star is flush against the base, then the sentiment banner is popped up on some thin foam adhesive. As I started playing with the banner I realized it needed something to anchor it, so I trimmed down the base and layered it on a kraft base. The pink star is die cut from some Lawn Fawn Pink Lemonade paper and popped up on thicker foam adhesive to add additional dimension. The little rhinestone adds some twinkle to my stars.

20130617-224024.jpg

Supplies –
Stamps: Lucky Stars (Lawn Fawn)
Paper: Kraft, Very Vanilla, Melon Mambo, Daffodil Delight (SU), Pink Lemonade (Lawn Fawn)
Ink: Versafine, Versamark
Accessories: Puffy Stars and A Birdie Told Me Lawn Cuts Dies (Lawn Fawn)

20130617-225005.jpg

I love all the dimension from the stars plus the texture from e embossed background. This card went from inspiration to complete in less than fifteen minutes. THAT is what I call inspiration! I have a feeling I’ll be visiting this blog quite often in the future.

3 thoughts on “Musings on Inspiration

Leave a Reply

