Savanna Scenes

One thing I’ve always loved doing is building a scene with my cards, but frequently that is at odds with the clean and simple style that I am drawn to. On top of that, this week’s LawnScaping challenge (Challenge #58) was to make a Clean and Simple Card! Last night I sat down and tried to bring the two together. The first card came out cute, but too busy. I took a step back, evaluated, and made a few changes before tackling the second card. I was much happier with the way the second one turned out!

First card

DSC_0204

DSC_0209

The sky and grass were made by masking off one section of paper, then sponging and layering on ink. When the sky was done, I masked that off to add the grass.  I liked the look, but it was too overpowering, too overwhelming. So I simplified!

Second Card

DSC_0217

DSC_0225

Ahhh! This is much more to my liking! The idea of the grass and the sky are still there, but the effect is much more minimal and they don’t overwhelm the focal points.

Supply List:

  • Stamps: Critters on the Savanna (Lawn Fawn)
  • Paper: Gina K Pure Luxury Base Weight, Neenah Solar White
  • Ink: Memento Black, Versafine, Old Olive, Lucky Limeade, Marina Mist and Pool Party (SU)
  • Accessories: Critters on the Savanna Lawn Cuts, Masking Paper, Copics, Corner Chomper
2 thoughts on “Savanna Scenes

Leave a Reply

