Love Two Ways

Here are two super simple cards I made, one using a die cut and the other using the negative space left behind from that die cut. I had so much fun making these, and they really played into the “Clean and Simple” style I’ve been enjoying lately.

DSC_0631

Funny thing is, the moment I saw this “love” die from Paper Smooches I immediately envisioned the negative space card. The card using the actual die cut didn’t come until I was done with the other!

Supply List –

  • Stamps: Fabulous Phrases (SU)
  • Paper: Island Indigo (plain and pattered, SU), Gina K Pure Luxury Base Weight
  • Ink: Versamark, Island Indigo
  • Accessories: Love die from Paper Smooches, white embossing powder

DSC_0633

DSC_0634

I might not have started with this card in mind, but I love the way it turned out. The simple script of the die cut in white contrasts beautifully with the deep blue green color of the paper.

DSC_0641

I struggled to catch this in a photograph, but the patterned paper behind the “love” is covered in hearts. Awww, how sweet. I kept the cut out chunks of the letters (inside the o, l, and e) by putting some foam adhesive behind them and carefully placing them using a pair of tweezers.

DSC_0649

I love using negative space like this. It adds so much dimension and life to a card that would otherwise be too simple.

Leave a Reply

